Link to home
Get AccessLog in
Avatar of Doodad Boy
Doodad BoyFlag for Malaysia

asked on

Cluster Preferred Owners automatically changed to "Anynode" after reboot

I had setup Preferred Owners to User setting. At General tab, i had selected a specific node and tick the node.

After rebooted, the "Preferred Owners" setting Changed to "Any Node"

How to permanently set this as User setting.
ASKER CERTIFIED SOLUTION
Avatar of Raja Jegan R
Raja Jegan R
Flag of India image

Link to home
membership
This content is only available to members.
To access this content, you must be a member of Experts Exchange.
Get Access
Avatar of Doodad Boy

ASKER

Hi Raja,

Yep, the preferred owner node has been selected and moved to UP.

But when ever the server been rebooted, the setting changed to "Any Node", and found both node are tick.
>> But when ever the server been rebooted, the setting changed to "Any Node", and found both node are tick.

Both nodes ticked shouldn't be a problem, if the order is retained, then it should be sufficient as the 1st in the order will be the preferred node at any point in time..
Hi Raja,

After the preferred node is back Online, the role does not moving back to the preferred node.

Please advise further how to fix this.
Sorry, not sure how I missed your response..
Okay, to explain more there are 2 scenarios:
1. Automatic - It will go to the next node in sequence and not the first preferred node.
2. Manual - It will go to the first node in preferred sequence.

For the explanation, you can check the scenarios 1 and 3 in the link below..
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/299631/failover-behavior-on-clusters-of-three-or-more-nodes

Kindly let me know for more details..