Access domain user's folder, after Mac was unbound from domain

J G
J G used Ask the Experts™
on
I recently removed a Mac from the domain.  Problem is I didn't copy a users folder before this happened, and now I don't have access permissions to the folder because it was a domain user account.  How do I gain local access to the folder's contents without rejoining the mac to the domain?
Comment
Watch Question

Do more with

Expert Office
EXPERT OFFICE® is a registered trademark of EXPERTS EXCHANGE®
MASEE Solution Guide - Technical Dept Head
Most Valuable Expert 2017

Commented:
You can try Connect to server and type smb://<ip address>
When you get authentication dialog type DOMAIN\username
Check this for more details.
https://www.dummies.com/computers/macs/how-access-file-shares-on-windows-computers-from-your-mac/

Commented:
If you reboot into single user mode (you will be in command mode) you will be an admin on the machine, and should be able to change the ownership on the folder and files so you can get at them when back in full OSX mode.

Or you could just use commands to move the files you want.

To boot into Single User Mode: Start or restart your Mac. As soon as you hear the startup tone, press and hold Command-S on the keyboard. Keep holding down those keys until you see a black screen with white lettering
No need for a reboot.  You can use the sudo command to change the owner to your local account and you'll have full access..

Open Terminal.app.
sudo chown Your_Local_Account_Name /Users/Domain_Account_Name

Commented:
Good point serialband. Absolutely right.

I am in some weird habit these days where I just forget all about sudu. :-(

Commented:
Actually, come to think of it, if they just want to save the users files and not the account, I believe deleting the account changes ownership on the files as well.  To delete a user and keep the files:
  • Make sure you're logged in to any user account with admin privileges.
  • Open System Preferences and click Users.
  • Select the account you'd like to delete and tap the – icon just under Login Options.
  • Choose whether you'd like to save or delete the home folder.
  • Click Delete User.

You can choose when saving to create a disk image of the home folder of that user. When you save it this way, that image is put into the Deleted Users in the Users folder (not the user's folder).

Do more with

Expert Office
Submit tech questions to Ask the Experts™ at any time to receive solutions, advice, and new ideas from leading industry professionals.

Start 7-Day Free Trial