We help IT Professionals succeed at work.

sending a filled out google doc back to an employer

I was sent a gmail with an employment acceptance letter. The option is to open and fill out with google docs. I opened the doc in my google drive, edited, and saved the document on my google drive as google doc. If I go to share on the document and enter his email address will it only share that document??? or all my documents on my drive??? Is there a particular setting I should use to make sure only that document is being shared? Should I use a different process to send??? Suggestions??? Thanks
Comment
Watch Question

Martin NguyenMember Experience manager
CERTIFIED EXPERT
Distinguished Expert 2018

Commented:
I would save the document as a PDF, keep a copy for yourself and send a copy back to your contact. Saving it as a PDF and keeping a copy for yourself should prevent any additional changes to the document.

If you wanted to share it as a Google Doc, click the Share button while viewing the doc and you can set it to view only.

share.jpgGoogle will default the sharing setting to Can Edit, so you can click where the eye is and a drop down menu will appear and you can select Can View.

Author

Commented:
Will they only be able to view that document??? Not my entire google drive google docs right?? I am new to using google drive and I want to make sure. So if I share then they can open as I specified their email and that google doc is available on the cloud. Only they can view??? How do I know it is safe on the cloud just curious... Thanks in advance and appreciate your response

Author

Commented:
How do I get a receipt that they recieved it??? Have them check yes I recieved or something like that.
Member Experience manager
CERTIFIED EXPERT
Distinguished Expert 2018
Commented:
Hi,

Yes, if you click share from that document it will only share it with that specific person. In your Google Drive you can see what folders/docs have been shared.

share-1.jpgshare-2.jpgThe folders with the picture of a person have been shared, the plain folders are not shared.
The docs with the icon of people next to it are shared with people, the docs lacking the icon are not shared.


To my knowledge there is not a way to know when they have "received" the doc. When you share it with them and select Notify User they get an email that gives them a link to the document. You can stay on the document and see when another user views it. That would show up in the white space in this image
share-3.jpg
The easier way to find out the document was received is to ask them to reply and acknowledge receipt.

When you share the document with "specific users" and specify an email address, Google checks to make sure that person is logged in to that email address when trying to view the file. If they are not logged in with that email address they will get an error screen telling them that they do not have permission to view.

If you are really concerned about the wrong people seeing it, I'd still suggest you downloading the document as a PDF and sending the PDF back to the person.

Feel free to ask any additional questions you may have!

Author

Commented:
Thanks you!

Explore More ContentExplore courses, solutions, and other research materials related to this topic.